Asking the Right Questions

At the end of interviews, I was taught to always ask “Is there anything else you would like to add?”. Sometimes, the answer is a simple no, but other times you get an interesting answer. When I was finishing up my interview with Paul Nugent, an International Director of the Aetherius Society, I asked the question.

“Dr. King used to say: to criticize is easy, to investigate is more difficult but much more worthwhile. And so, you know, to that extent, I appreciate you coming here today to find out, to ask questions,” Nugent said.

I thought this was an interesting quote because, in a way, it reflects why we have the magazine. We’re here to ask the questions and share our findings.

I asked Nugent about what common misconceptions people have about the Aetherius Society. I like this question because it allows people to clear the air and explain themselves or their beliefs.

“I think there’s a lot of misconceptions. I think people would call us a cult, which in the correct sense we are. I mean, a cult is any non-mainstream religious organization. Unfortunately, though it’s developed, a very negative connotation because there have been various, some very bizarre religious groups that have done, you know, ridiculous things. I mean, Christianity was a cult when it began. All new faiths begin as cults just because they’re non-mainstream,” Nugent said.

What are your favorite questions to ask?

Leave a comment