Talking to the Experts

My expert is Jason Wang. Wang is in Physical Plant Management at CSUN, yet has studied cult and cult behavior. I found him on the experts directory when searching for religion, spirituality, and philosophy. He has agreed to the interview.

I chose him, because one of the individuals I spoke with at the Aetherius Society noted that by definition they are a cult. Wang let me know that he knows little of the Society, but has studied cult behaviors.

“I am not an expert on different types of cults and honestly know little about the Aetherius Society. That being said I can speak to spirituality and cult behaviors- noting that not all ‘cult’ behaviors are bad as some individuals often stereotype,” Wang said.

I plan to ask him about identity within religious sects, the positive effects, and potential downsides.

Until next week!

Leave a comment